Best Answer

all accept the northern states

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many states allowed slavery in 1840?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about American Government

Why did many Northern members of Congress oppose the Kansas-Nebraska Act?

Because it could have allowed both those states to practise slavery, in contravention of the Missouri Compromise. (By 1854, it was getting much more difficult to create new slave-states at all.)

Why did the founding fathers not abolish slavery?

The founding fathers of the United States did not abolish slavery right away because it was something that they found useful. There were many slaves working in state houses in Pennsylvania at the time the Declaration of Independence was signed. Many families had slaves to do the cooking and cleaning in the northern states.

Why were many abolitionists against the Kansas-Nebraska act?

Because it might have allowed new slave-states.

Who was president when slavery was signed into law?

There was no law passed to make slavery. Slavery is a custom that has been around for many centuries including ancient Egypt. In the United States, slaves were first sold in 1619. The Pilgrims came to Massachusetts in 1620. That was over 100 years before we had the American Revolution and a president.

How might Abraham Lincolns victory in the election of 1860 lead to future problems?

Many people in the north wanted no part of slavery anywhere in the country. Southerners wanted slavery because they thought it helped production of crops etc. There are contrasting beliefs. Abraham Lincoln was from the North and a proponent of Federal rights and powers to limit slavery. The southern states wanted strong state powers and rights and weaker federal powers and rights. Slavery was a States Right issue and the federal government should not interfere. The northern states wanted the exact opposite, strong federal powers and rights and weaker state powers and rights. The right of the Federal government to abolish Slavery should trump any so-called States Rights. So the southern states voted to secede from or leave the United States also know as the Union. The US Civil War was thus started.

Related questions

How many states were there in 1840 how many by 1850?

By 1840 there were 26 states making up the United States. That number had expanded to 31 states by 1850.

Did the south allow slavery?

Yes, the Southern states in the United States allowed and supported slavery before the Civil War. Slavery was an integral part of the economy and society in the South, with many plantations relying on enslaved labor for their operations.

How many states in the year 1840?


How many US states were there in 1840?


Why do you think Ancient Egyptians and many other cultures allowed slavery?

they allowed slavery because it was cheap

Did the border states have slaves?

Yes. These were the four slave-states of the Upper South that had voted to stay loyal. Lincoln did not want to upset powerful slave-owners in these states and drive them into the arms of the Confederacy, so he allowed slavery to continue there for the duration of the war. IMPROVEMENT The Border States had altogether 430 929 slaves.

What statement is true about the issue of Slavery in the 1840 and 1850?

It was the subject of many compromises, but it was never settled-Apex

Were all men allowed to vote in the six new state between 1816 and 1821?

No, only all white men. The six new states were Indiana, Illinois and Maine (which were free states), and did not have slavery; and Mississippi, Alabama and Missouri (which were states that allowed slavery). But while black men in the free states could attend school (including college), learn a trade, or make many other life choices, they still were not allowed to vote. And women were still not allowed to vote either.

How did slavery differ in the 1700's and 1800's?

Black slavery in america was different by the 1800s. No states in the north allowed slaves by 1800s, and demanded that all black slaves should be set free. Until the 1850 to 1860, many slave owners had less than 100 slaves. In the 1700s, all states allowed slavery and white farmers treated black slaves very harsh.

How many free and slave states where there at the end of slavery?

If its the end of slavery then all of the states were free

What States that allowed slavery during 1700-1800?

There were many states that took part in slavery from 1700 to 1800. These states included Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Virginia.

How many states were black people free from slavery in?

15 states were black people free from slavery