Best Answer

The division of government into the Legislative branch, the executive branch and the judicial branch is known as separation of powers. The division of American government into Federal, State and Local is known as division of powers. The principle known as "separation of powers" which is also referred to as "checks and balances" serves as testament to the brilliance and forethought of the drafters of the Constitution of the United States of America. By designing a tripartite federal government, a federal government with three, coequal branches, the drafters bequeathed to their descendants the last, best hope for government of the people, by the people, and for the people. Assuming everything works as designed, the drafters created the governmental equivalent of rock, paper scissors. However, separation of powers does not operate or emerge in a vacuum. It is the result of a multi-layered design which includes the complimentary principle known as "division of powers." Division of powers is the often overlooked principle of dividing governmental power among the federal, state, and local governments. Also, each level of government within the United States of America is comprised of an executive branch, a legislative branch, and a judicial branch. In sum, the complimentary principles known as "separation of powers" and "division of powers" operate and emerge in such a way as to prevent the concentration of too much governmental power in any one branch or at any one level. To view a transcript of the Preamble as well as Articles I through VII of the Constitution of the United States of America, a transcript of the 1st through the 10th Amendments, also known as the Bill of Rights, and a transcript of the 11th through the 27th Amendments, access the links under Related Links, below.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the name given the structure created to divide the branches of government?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about American Government
Related questions

What the name of a government where the power in a government is divide between two branches?

It is a coalition.

Balance of power?

3 branches of government of power were they divide

Why did the delegates divide the government into three branches?

hi plssss tell me answer its for my hww

What did Montesquieu believe having three branches of government was best for the government?

Montesquieu Believed the government should divide itself according to its powers which would create the three branches in the government Judicial, Legislative, and Executive.

Why we dIvide the government as 3 branches?

We don't. You are talking about one particular form of government, not all governments do so. You need to specify which government you are referring to.

Why did most states divide their power between two branches of government?

British did not believe the Americans government could be strong or effective.

How does the federal system divide government power in orders to prevent its abuse?

There are three branches of the US Federal Government, the Legislative, Executive and Judicial Branches all with individual duties and powers. These Branches ensure no one has too much power.

Why is the US government divide 3 branches?

The Founding Fathers wanted to guard against tyranny, so the government was divided into the branches. It was believed that each branch would "check" the other branches so that no one branch became too powerful.

Why delegates at the constitutional convention create three branches of government?

They created 3 branches so not one group could gain too much power.Each branch has one way of checking each other powers this is called checks and balances.

Why is 3 branches of government needed?

The Great Compromise thought of the idea of creating three branches of the government into order to divide the powers so that not one person/section could have complete power. Now the branches share the powers and make sure that one of the branches are doing their job without abusing their powers.

What three ways did the constitution divide government authority?

The Constitution divides the government into three branches; legislative, executive and judicial branches. Each has specific powers and duties, to make sure that each branch of government fulfills its responsibilities without exceeding its power.

Why it have three branch in government?

There are three branches of government to evenly divide the power. They didn't want any one group to have power over all the U.S.