Best Answer

Article 1 Section 8 of the Constitution gives the federal government 18 "enumerated powers" of the Congress. The 9th and 10th Amendments restrict the congress to ONLY those functions, and reserve all other powers to the states or to the People.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 12y ago

all those not designated to the federal government by the constitution as long as state laws do not conflict with national laws(WRONG)

The correct answer is Reserved Powers.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 13y ago

Reserved Powers. Powers held by the national government are called Enumerated Powers.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What powers are held by the States in the federal system?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What powers are held in the states in the federal system?

all those not designated to the federal government by the constitution as long as state laws do not conflict with national laws(WRONG) The correct answer is Reserved Powers.

Define states rights position?

In American political discourse, states' rights are political powers held for the state governments rather than the federal government according to the United States Constitution, reflecting especially the enumerated powers of Congress and the Tenth Amendment. The enumerated powers that are listed in the Constitution include exclusive federal powers, as well as concurrent powers that are shared with the states, and all of those powers are contrasted with the reserved powersโ€”also called states' rightsโ€”that only the states possess.

What are the powers held by the federal government?

National and State

Who are Reserved Powers held by?


The concurrent powers in the federal system of government are those?

Concurrent powers are those that are exercised simultaneously by the national and state governments. Some examples of concurrent powers are:taxationbuilding roadsestablishing bankruptcy lawscreating lower courts

Is Guam a colony?

The easy answer is NO. The reason for that answer is that it is a federal territory. There can be no colonies any more. The Constitution of the United States grants all powers to the States and only the powers given from the States is to be held by the federal government. In this regard any non-State land under the Constituion of the United States is to be considered federal territory, and as such is under the laws of the U.S. Constitution. Each State is under the laws of their own Constitution.

What kinds of powers should be held by the states alone?

According to the US Constitution, all powers not granted to the Federal government are left to the States to decide upon. This measure helped to prevent the central government from gaining too much power.

Which is a reserved power held by the states?


Does the Supreme Court have the right to over rule a Texas rule?

Yes, and no. The supremacy clause of the US constitution declares that federal law supersedes state law. However, the federal government is limited. There are some powers exclusively held by the states. Specifically, the 10th amendment declares that all powers not listed for the federal government are held by the states or the people. Long story short, the federal government is supreme in power, but limited in scope. It all depends on what the case was about. Sorry I couldn't give you a straight answer, but it is impossible to determine based on your question.

What powers are held by both states and federal government?

Those powers are called concurrent powers and they are:To collect taxesTo burrow moneyTo establish courtsTo charter banksTo enforce laws and punish law breakersTo provide for the health and welfare of the peopleHope this helps!

What powers are held back for the states?

a government test that you probably have tomorrow

A person committed a federal crime and is awaiting trial. In which court will the trial be held?

The trial for a federal crime will be held in a federal court, which is part of the federal judiciary system.