Best Answer

The below information written by someone else may or may not be true. The Vice President is the only elected officer in the federal government who has duties in two branches of government: the legislative (he/she is President of the Senate) and the executive (being VP). This can be found in Article I, Section 3 of the Constitution.


Too many to list. The most notable is probably Taft, who served as both US President and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

In fact, there have been several people who have served in all 3 branches, legislative, executive & judicial, as members of the Supreme Court, members of Congress, and members of a Presidential Cabinet.

According to this site:

the list includes: John Marshall (Sec. of State, VA Rep., Chief Justice), Byrne (Sec. of State, SC Rep. & Sen), Salmon Chase (Sec. of Treasury, OH Sen., Chief Justice), Nathan Clifford (Attorney Gen., ME Rep.), and Lucius Lamar(Sec. of Interior, MS Rep. and Sen.).

The list is probably much longer if one includes the lower courts, or Officers of the United States outside of the Presidential Cabinet. For instance, Shermon Minton was a captain of the Army, Representative from IN, and SCOTUS Justice.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Dick Cheney, at least, claims that he (at least until tomorrow) is a member of both the Executive Branch (since he is second in line to the Presidency and his position is outlined in Article II) and the Legislative Branch (because the VP presides over the Senate and has a vote in the event of a tie - and the position is also discussed in Article I). This is certainly not the traditional view of the position, however.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who is the only elected official to serve in two branches of the government?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Two individuals were selected each year to serve in wich of these branches of roman government?

The ancient Roman government elected two consuls every year. They elected two people to serve in the lead position as a separation of power.

Why are presidents elected?

Because that's how our government was made its in our constitution, and we need someone to be a leader, but to make sure they don't abuse power their is separation of power between the branches of government and the president can only serve 4 years then get re-elected once.

Who does the house of representatives primarily serve?

The House of Representatives serve the constituents they represent in their district. They are the most directly elected officials in the federal government, thus they more than any other federal elected official (Senators or President) represent the people.

How many years did Barbara Jordan serve as an elected official in government 6 or 12 or 16 or 17?


By 494 BC ten of these were elected each year to serve in the Roman government.?

tribunes By 494 B.C., 10 tribunes were elected each year to serve in the Roman government.

What is the official name of the elected members of the Federal Government?

Members of the federal government have different titles, depending on the job they were elected to do. Some official titles include, the President of the United States, senator, and members of the House of Representatives.

How many women serve in New York's elected government government?

this is a ard question

In a democracy whom is the government responsible for?

(For Apex Learning) To serve in the military.

What do you call the people who are elected to serve in the state government?

They are called Representatives.

How does a representative government BEST serve the purpose of constitutional government?

A representative government should provide checks and balances to the branches of government.

How many years can the Irish Prime Minister Serve?

The maximum term of an Irish government is 5 years, after which there is an election. A Taoiseach, which is the official title of the head of an Irish government, also can have a 5 year term, but can be re-elected as often as he is chosen. So there is no limit to the terms a Taoiseach can serve.

Who was the first president to serve as an official of the confederence states?

John Tyler was elected to the Confederate legislature.