Best Answer

Headed by a Cabinet secretary

Independent agencies are part of the executive branch

Established through separate statutes passed by the Congress.To bypass the checks and balances built-in to the US Constitution.Independent agencies operate outside the executive department to oversee the operations of the national government etc

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Their responsibilities did not fit within the Cabinet departments

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Independent agencies exist so as not to be influenced by partisan politics.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why are their independent agencies outside of the cabinet?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why were independent agencies set up outside the cabinet departments?

Their responsibilities did not fit within the Cabinet departments.

Why are independent agencies called independent?

Independent agencies are given their name because they are not part of the Cabinet. They are agencies which are independent from the cabinet. Some examples may be executive agencies, government corporations, and regulatory commissions.

Which are not independent agencies of the national bureaucracy?

Independent agencies- called "independent" because they are not part of the Cabinet. Three types: * Executive agencies * Government corporations * Regulatory commissions

The postal service and AMTRAK are examples of Cabinet departments government corporations independent agencies or regulartory agencies?

independent agenciesWrong. Government Corporations.

What are executive agencies?

Independent executive agencies are agencies under the executive branch that lie outside the jurisdiction of the cabinet departments. The independent executive agencies, in the federal system, are those agencies set up by the President of the United States. In the state systems, they are those set up by the Governors of the states. In both the state and federal systems, these agencies often have more power than agencies set up by statute.

Which of these is one the main parts of the federal bureaucracy?

the supreme court

What are 4 divisions of the executive branch?

The four main divisions of the executive branch in the United States are the President, the Vice President, the Cabinet, and executive departments and agencies. Each plays a specific role in carrying out the functions of the executive branch of government.

What the 4 divisions of the executive branch?

1. Cabinet departments 2. Independent agencies 3. government corporations 4. regulatory agencies

Does the Executive branch include hundreds of independent agencies that work independently of the cabinet and the president?

No it doesn't. :D

What are the fours divisions of the executive branch?

The president, Vice President, cabinet members are the executive branch

What is an executive agency?

An executive agency is a part of the government that carries out programs and operations not performed by the legislature or judiciary. In the US, these agencies of the executive branch are under the authority of the President, and almost all are part of a cabinet department.

The US Postal Service is a cabinet department and I am independent agency?

Yes! USA.GOV lists 70 independent federal agencies. The Postal Service is (the last name) on that list.