answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The legal age to move out of your house with parental consent is 17. Legally your parents cant make you leave your house if you dont want to until you're 18 without permission from the court. Parents are legally responsible for their children until they are 18. The legal age of majority in all but four states is 18. In Alabama and Nebraska the age of majority is 19, in Mississippi and Pennsylvania it is 21. An action such as a minor requesting with whom they want to live and being granted said request is not the prescribed procedure in the U.S. In a very few states a minor who is at least 16-years of age can petition for emancipation rights. There is, however a misconception that every minor who files will be granted an emancipation decree, the reality is, it seldom happens. That aside, a minor in the U.S. does not arbitrarily decide where or with whom they choose to live. Such issues are decided by a judge after prescribed due process has been followed. 17 See the Related Link for "Teen Advice Online: 'Should I Move out Before College?'" to the right for the answer.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

18

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Legal age to leave home in United States?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is the legal age to leave home in France?

In France, the legal age to leave home without parental consent is 18 years old. However, minors can seek emancipation through legal procedures before turning 18.


Can you legally leave home when you are 17?

In most states in the US, the legal age of emancipation is 18. However, some states allow minors to leave home with parental consent or under certain circumstances like being in danger at home. It is advisable to check the specific laws in your state or seek legal advice.


What is the legal age to leave home in OK?

The legal age to leave home without parental permission in Oklahoma is 18.


Can you leave home in the us at age 16 without parental permision?

In the United States, the legal age for leaving home without parental permission is typically 18. However, individual states may have specific laws or provisions in place that allow minors to leave home earlier under certain circumstances, such as in cases of abuse or neglect. It is important to consult with local authorities or seek legal guidance to understand the specific laws in your state.


What is the legal age for girls to leave their mothers home?

I tried leaving home loads at the age of 14. The police came and got me and took me back home. I'm allowed to leave home at 15, but rules may be different for individuals. The legal age in all states is 18.


How old do you have to be to move out in the United Kingdom?

There is no legal age limit to leave your parents, but you must be 16 to legally live alone, but 18 to buy or rent accomadation.


At what age can a married woman born in the United States legally leave the family home and move back to Malaysia to live with her husband?

18 * A married person in the United States is considered legally emancipated regardless of their age. Additionally the U.S. recognizes all legal marriages regardless of where they take place. Therefore if the person was legally married in Malaysia they are legally married in the U.S. and may leave their parents' home and the U.S. if they choose to do so.


Why is it legal for a seventeen to leave home?

Because there is no legal restriction confining numbers to a home. - Geoff


What is the Legal age to leave from home?

18 is legal age in Texas ( other states i don't know ) it now can be when you are at the age of 12 because you are considered a young adult at that age


What are the laws about shooting a burgaler in Florida?

in the united states 47 of the states including Florida it is legal to kill a trespasser or burglar in your own home or your own land.


Can you homegrown peyote?

You can grow Peyote in your home. It does happen to be illegal to own in the United States however. A legal alternative would be for San Pedro, legal for decorative purposes of course.


What is the legal age to leave home in dc?

18