Best Answer

London was the only town and village left out off the Domesday Book

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which towns were left out of the domesday book?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about World History

When was the Domesday Book completed?

i dont know but published is NOT the same word as complied.

Why was the Domesday Book called the Domesday Book?

The Domesday Book consisted of two volumes held in the Royal Treasury at Winchester in Hampshire, where it was known as The Book of Winchester. It formed a definitive source of information in the settling of court cases and was frequently consulted. Later it was transported to Westminster, where it acquired the jokey nickname 'Domesday Book' because its authority in legal terms was as absolute as God's judgment or 'doom' of a human soul when it left the human body and met its appointed destiny.It was called the doomsday book as it means judgement day you couldn't escape it.

Did people at the time seem to like the domesday book?

People didn't like the Domesday book as, who in their right mind wants to give away their money to the tax man, that was the point of the Domesday book. William the conqueror wanted to know how much tax to charge

How long did it take to complete the domesday book?

5240 days

How many pages are there in the Domesday book?

Domesday Book is really two independent works. One, known as Little Domesday, covers Norfolk, Suffolk and Essex. The other, Great Domesday, covers much of the remainder of England and parts of Wales, except for lands in the north that would later become Westmorland, Cumberland, Northumberland and County Durham. There are also no surveys of London, Winchester and some other towns. The omission of these two major cities is probably due to their size and complexity. Most of Cumberland and Westmorland are missing because they were not conquered until some time after the survey, and County Durham is lacking as the Bishop of Durham (William de St-Calais) had the exclusive right to tax Durham; parts of the north east of England were covered by the 1183 Boldon Book, which listed those areas liable to tax by the Bishop of Durham. The omission of the other counties has not been fully explained.