Best Answer


Franklin Roosevelt,Eisenhower,Nixon, Clinton and George W. Bush

were all elected twice to the presidency.

Theodore Roosevelt,Coolidge Truman, and Lyndon Johnson became president when the president died and then were elected to another term, so in a way they were re-elected.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

Either 20 or 21, based on the inclusion of Grover Cleveland (non-consecutive terms). Of those, 4 were elected Vice President then elected President after their succession (Theodore Roosevelt, Calvin Coolidge, Harry Truman, and Lyndon Johnson).

In the first 57 US Presidential elections (1789-2012), the incumbent president was nominated as a candidate for reelection 32 times and won reelection 22 times, representing 20 separate Presidents. That includes those presidents who first attained the presidency through ascension or appointment rather than election as president.

(Three of the 22 reelections involved the same person, Franklin D. Roosevelt -- since the 1951 ratification of the 22nd Amendment to the US Constitution, it is no longer legally possible to be elected US President more than twice.)

Grover Cleveland lost his campaign for reelection while an incumbent in 1888, but he re-won the presidency four years later. Including Cleveland, the total number of people who were elected President after having become President is 21.

Including 2012, these are the 32 elections which included the incumbent president as a candidate:

1792 - George Washington (ind.; won) 1

1800 - John Adams (Fed.; lost)

1804 - Thomas Jefferson (D-R; won) 2

1812 - James Madison (D-R; won) 3

1820 - James Monroe (D-R; won) 4

1828 - John Quincy Adams (N.R.; lost)

1832 - Andrew Jackson (Dem.; won) 5

1840 - Martin Van Buren (Dem.; lost)

1864 - Abraham Lincoln (Rep.; won) 6

1872 - Ulysses S. Grant (Rep.; won) 7

1888 - Grover Cleveland (Dem.; lost) *8

1892 - Benjamin Harrison (Rep.; lost)

1900 - William McKinley (Rep.; won) 9

1904 - Theodore Roosevelt (Rep.; won) 10

1912 - William Howard Taft (Rep.; lost)

1916 - Woodrow Wilson (Dem.; won) 11

1924 - Calvin Coolidge (Rep.; won) 12

1932 - Herbert Hoover (Rep.; lost)

1936 - Franklin D. Roosevelt (Dem.; won) 13

1940 - Franklin D. Roosevelt (Dem.; won)

1944 - Franklin D. Roosevelt (Dem.; won)

1948 - Harry S Truman (Dem.; won) 14

1956 - Dwight D. Eisenhower (Rep.; won) 15

1964 - Lyndon B. Johnson (Dem.; won) 16

1972 - Richard M. Nixon (Rep.; won) 17

1976 - Gerald R. Ford (Rep.; lost)

1980 - Jimmy Carter (Dem.; lost)

1984 - Ronald Reagan (Rep.; won) 18

1992 - George H. W. Bush (Rep.; lost)

1996 - Bill Clinton (Dem.; won) 19

2004 - George W. Bush (Rep.; won) 20

2012 - Barack Obama (Dem.; won) 21

Most consecutive elections without the incumbent as a candidate: 5 (1844-1860)

Most consecutive elections without an incumbent win: 7 (1836-1860)

Most consecutive elections without an incumbent loss: 11 (1844-1884)

* It is interesting to note that in every US Presidential election from 1956 through 2004, either the incumbent president or the incumbent vice president was one of the two major-party candidates (Eisenhower, Nixon, Johnson, Humphrey, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, Bush, Clinton, Gore & Bush). In fact, since the beginning of the 20th century, there have been only five elections in which that was not the case (1908, 1920, 1928, 1952 & 2008).

* Conversely, only ONE sitting Vice president has been elected President since 1836: George H. Bush. The other three were John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and Martin Van Buren.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many US presidents were reelected?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many years did they have to be presidents?

A term is 4 yrs with 2 terms max if reelected (US)

How many terms is president in office for until reelected?

Presidents serve one term before they must be reelected.

How many presidents since the ratifications of the 22nd amendment have been reelected?


Can presidents be reelected in italy?

yes they can

What is the order of the presidents who have died in office were elected or reelected in precisely 20-year intervals?

Seven of the Eight U.S. presidents who have died in office were elected or reelected in precisely 20- year intervals. Name them in Chronological order.

How many presidents were in the US?

there were 44 presidents in U.S.A.

How many US Presidents are they?

they are be 44 Presidents in the U.S.A.

How many us presidents have been reelected when war or extended military engagements have been in process?

Three US president were re-elected while a war was going on- Lincoln ( Civil War), Wilson (W W I ) and Franklin Roosevelt ( W W II ).

How long is one term of the president of mexico?

Six years. Presidents in Mexico cannot be reelected.

How long is a term in the US senator?

6 years. They can be reelected as many times as they want.

Do US senators get reelected?


How many presidents of US?