Best Answer

Technically, no Indian President has been elected into office twice.

Varahagiri Venkata Giri is the only person to serve as President twice. His first term was from 3rd May 1969 to 20th July 1969. He was appointed as Acting President following the death of former President Zakir Hussain. He resigned in a few months to take part in the presidential elections.

He was later elected and served his second term from 24th August 1969 to 24th August 1974.


Muhammad Hidayatullah served as acting Acting President for about a month from 20th July 1969 to 24th August 1969 as he was the ex officio Chief Justice at that time and the then Vice-President of India and Acting President of India V V Giri resigned to take part in the 1969 Presidential elections.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Dr. Rajendra Prasad - 1st President of India, from 1950 -1962

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Dr. Rajendra Prasad. --by Manjunath More Kolhapur

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: The only Indian President who has served two terms?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What is the number of terms Washington served as president?

George Washington served two terms and then declined a third.

How many US Presidents served only four terms?

Only four terms? That's the most any one president has served. Franklin Delano Roosevelt served three terms, starting in 1933, and died during his fourth term in 1945. Every other President has only served one or two terms.

What is the president's name that had only 4-terms?

The president who served four terms was Franklin D. Roosevelt. He was elected president in 1932 and served until his death in 1945.

Which president served beyond two terms?

Franklin Roosevelt was the only president to serve more than two terms.

Which president was the only president to serve more than 2 terms?

Franklin D Roosevelt -- he served 4 terms

Who is the only president of india who have served two terms?

Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Who was the first president to serve 2 terms?

Franklin D. Roosevelt was the only President who served more than two terms. He was elected to four terms but died early in the fourth. He served from March 4 ,1933 until his death on August 12, 1945

Why did the presidential term change to two terms?

Your question is not specific enough.. But in the USA The first president was George Washington. He only served two terms and as a cause after him all presidents only served two terms.

Which president was only elected to four terms in office?

Franklin D. Roosevelt (served 1933 - 1945) died at the start of his fourth term. No other president served for more than two terms.

How many years did James Garfield in terms served?

He was President for only 6 months.

Who is the longest serving president?

The longest serving president in U.S. history was Franklin D. Roosevelt, who served for four terms from 1933 to 1945. He is the only president to have served more than two terms.

Why is Franklin D. Roosevelt famous?

FDR was the 32nd president, he served during the Great Depression and World War II, he served longer than any other president and he is probably second only to President Lincoln in terms of popularity.