Best Answer

Delaware, Maryland, Missouri, and Kentucky.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What four slave states did not secede from the union?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about American Government

What states did not secede from the Union?

Love you

States that did not secede the US during the civil war?

Kentucky, Missouri, Maryland, Delaware. It was not just their status prior to the war that bothered Lincoln. They were in danger of seceding if they saw the South winning battles, and a Confederate government was actually installed in Kentucky by Braxton Bragg, though it collapsed when he took his army back to Tennessee.

Why did some abolitionist criticize Lincoln Emancipation Proclamation?

The Emancipation Proclamation only applied to the Confederate states, but not all of the salve states had joined the confederacy. There were several slave states still in the Union, and they continued as slave states after the proclamation.

What four things does a state need to exist?

Under Article IV, Section Three of the United States Constitution, which outlines the relationship among the states, Congress has the power to admit new states to the union. The states are required to give "full faith and credit" to the acts of each other's legislatures and courts, which is generally held to include the recognition of legal contracts, marriages, and criminal judgments. The states are guaranteed military and civil defense by the federal government, which is also obligated by Article IV, Section Four, to "guarantee to every state in this union a republican form of government." New states are admitted into the Union by the precedents and procedures established by the Northwest Ordinance. Following the precedent established by the Enabling Act of 1802, an Enabling Act must be passed by Congress as a prerequisite to admission. The act authorizes the people of a territory to frame a constitution, and lays down the requirements that must be met prior to consideration for statehood.

Which of these four states has the higher population?

: Connecticut

Related questions

What slave states did not secede from the union?

There were four slave states that did not secede from the union, Missouri, Kentucky, Maryland, and Delaware. Slaves in these states were not freed till after the civil war; not even by the Emancipation Proclamation.

Which states did not secede from the union?

The states that DID NOT secede from the Union was Delaware, Maryland, Kentucky, and Missouri. These four states did not secede from the Union because They were Border states, meaning they were between the Union and the Confederacy.

How many slave states remained in the Union and fought against the Confederacy in the Civil War?

Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, and Missouri were four slave states that did not secede from the Union. West Virginia, another slave state, seceded from Virginia and joined the Union during the Civil War. it was 4 that didn't secede from the union.

What state didn't secede in the Union?

All the non-slave states, plus four slave-states that did not vote Confederate - Kentucky, Missouri, Maryland, Delaware.

Who refused to secede from federal union?

Four slave-states of the Upper South - Kentucky, Missouri, Maryland and Delaware.

What are slave owned states that did not secede from the union?

The Buffer States - Kentucky, Missouri, Maryland, Delaware. Lincoln's chief priority at the outbreak of the war was to keep these four states in the Union.

What were the slave states that remained in the Union called?

There were five slave states that remained in the Union. Initially there were four -- Delaware, Maryland, Kentucky and Missouri. West Virgina separated from Virginia when it (Virginia) seceded from the Union. West Virginia was admitted to the Union in 1863 as a slave state. West Virgina remained in the Union making it the fifth slave state not to secede. These five slave states were called border states.

What states did not secede from the Union?

Love you

Which states did not secede until after fort Sumter attack?

After Sumter,four slave-states left the Union and another four did not. The ones that didn't were Missouri, Kentucky, Maryland and Delaware. District of Columbiaitself wasa slave-state, though slave-trading had been ended there.

When the US Civil War was solidly underway what was the number of free states and slave states?

When all of the Confederate states became solidified as one collective rebellion, there were 15 slave states in the US. Of the fifteen, four slave states did not secede. Nineteen were free states. Thus as the war was fully underway, there were eleven Confederate states and 23 Union states. The slave states that did not secede were called "Border States". These were Delaware, Maryland, Kentucky and Missouri. Only the latter three states played a roles in the war.

Did the proclamation apply to all of the states?

The Emancipation Proclamation applied only to the States that were at war with the union; it did not apply to the four "slave States" that did not secede. In other words, the Emancipation Proclamation did not free any slaves at the time it was published.

Is Maryland union or confederacy?

union. It was one of the four slave states in the Union