Best Answer

The United Nations Security Council has 5 permanent members... the United States, United Kingdom, France, Russian Federation, and China

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

The United Nations Security Council has 5 permanent members. Those permanent members are the U.S, U.K., China, France, and Russia.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What part of the un has 5 permanent members?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Number of Non permanent member of the un security council is?

There are 15 members of the UN Security Council, 5 are permanent and 10 are elected.

Total number of UN security council members?

15 in total of which 5 are permanent

How India acts as a member of UN?

India is a member of UN but it's not one of the 5 permanent members of the UN (which are Russia,US,UK,China & France).

Which country is not a permanent member of UN security council?

At any one time there are 15 members of the UN Security Council. Of these 15 members, 10 are no permanent and 5 are permanent.The permanent members areChina,France,Russia,the United Kingdom,the United States.Each of the 10 non permanent members stay on the council for a 2 year term with five new ones being elected to replace 5 leaving ones each year.

How many permanent members of the UN?

There are no permanent members of the UN. There are five permanent members of the UN security council but that is a different matter. Those countries are: ~China ~France ~Russian Federation ~United Kingdom ~United States

Who are the 5 founder members of the United Nations Organisation?

The 5 permanent members of the UN are China, France, UK, US, and Russia Federation

How many members are there in security council?

The UN security council has 15 members. Of these, 5 nations are permanent members (China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, & United States) who hold veto power. The remaining 10 are elected non-permanent members with two-year terms. The non-permanent members are elected from the General Assembly and do not have veto power over the Council's resolutions.

What are the 5 plus 1 countries?

Five permanent members of the UN security council plus Germany The 5-plus-1 group -- the permanent Security Council members Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States plus Germany

Why do the UN have permanent members of the UN?

This question is not clear. Depending on how you view it, every member is permanent, since they do not have to renew their membership, or none are, since they can withdraw whenever they want. I wonder whether you meant "why are some members of the UN Security Council permanent". The answer to that is historical - the 5 permanent members (China, France, Russia, the UK and the US) were on the winning side of the 2nd world war, and decided that they would hold permanent seats on the council. The remaining UN countries elect the other 10 members of the council for 2 years each.

How many permanent members of NATO?


On the Un security council who has veto power?

A veto power in the UN Security Council's context is a power to say "no" to any pre-resolutions if they in their opinion may think is not fit to passed and become a resolution. Answering the question, the permanent members of the Security Council shall have the veto powers. There are 5 permanent members which are: a) United States of America b) United Kingdom c) Russian Federation d) France e) China And besides having this veto power, the 5 permanent members shall have rights and been recognize in possesing nuclear weapons under the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.

The Security Council is made up of 5 permanent members and?

10 temporary members.