Best Answer

The state governments was granted six powers. The state powers are: to establish local governments; to regulate commerce within a state; to conduct elections; to ratify amendments to the federal Constitution; to take measures for public health, safety, and morals; and to exert powers the Constitution does not delegate to the national government or prohibit the states from using.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

States Rights.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What powers are granted to the states?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What are powers granted to granted to the states called?

Reserved powers

Reserved powers are those powers reserved for?

Reserved powers are those powers reserved for not reserved for- but granted to the states. The definition of reserved powers: All powers not expressed in the Constitution are granted to the states and called reserved powers.

What are the reserve powers given to the states?

There are not "two" powers reserved to the states. All powers not explicitly granted to the federal government are retained by the states, or the people.

The reserved powers belong to who?

Reserved powers belong to the states. Reserved powers are the powers that are not granted to the National Government by the Constitution and they are not denied to the states.

What describes the powers granted to the state government?

Paraphrasing the Constitution " All powers not expressly granted herein shall be reserved for the states."

What powers were granted to the states by the Constitution?

States were given the power to provide and support education.

Does Congress have the power to override reserved powers granted to the states.?

no or false

Which powers does the constitution specifically grant to the states?

No, actually the reverse. The Constitution states that all powers not specifically granted to the Federal Government are reserved for the state.

What are powers of the states?

The Tenth Amendment to the US Constitution reads: "The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people."

How are the states are interdependent and subject to the federal government?

In general states are sovereign and retain all power not specifically granted to the feds by the constitution such as national defense. The federal government is limited to the powers specifically granted to them and the states retain all other powers.

When the powers are neither granted to the congress nor denied to the states what are they considered to belong to?

both congress and the states

What are the powers granted to the national government in the constitution?

Read the first three articles of the United States Constitution.