Best Answer

John Adams, John Quincy Adams, Martin Van Buren, John Tyler, James Polk, Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan, Abraham Lincoln, Andrew Johnson, Rutherford Hayes, Chester Arthur, Benjamin Harrison, William McKinley, William Taft, Herbert Hoover, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, and George Bush all served only one term (four years). William Henry Harrison, Zachary Taylor, James Garfield, Warren Harding, and John F. Kennedy all served under four years due to death by disease, poor health, or assassination.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

I think James A. Garfield, because he was assassinated too early. From, Bryan Hollick Raleigh, North Carolina

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who was president for only four years?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What are the election cycles for the president?

Every four years, but a president can only serve two elected terms.

How many years is a president elected?

every president is elected for 4 years is what i hear

How long are executive branch terms?

In the United States, a President is elected every four years.

When was established that president can only stay for four years?

Passage of the 22 amendment in 1951

How many years can obama serve as president?

By law, Obama can only serve two terms as president which means he can only serve for 8 years. This means his time is up in 2016.

What is the length of the office for the president?

Four years but if the president wants to run again and wins he gets only 4 more years and that's it. 4-8 years in the office.

Where is the proof that presidents can not serve for more than four years?

The answer to that question is found in the twenty second amendment of the constitution. The president can serve for more than four years, however the president can not serve more than ten years. They can serve two terms (four years each). I can not remember how they can get the other two years, but they can.The term of the president is only four years. I do not know where you got your information from, but it is completely false.

What is the term of office for a president?

Four years. A president can be re-elected once for another four years.

When is the president is elected?

The President is elected every four years.

How long can the president of America serve for?

The regular election lasts for four years. But the president can be elected again if he runs for president for a second time. If he is voted for president, then he can serve for another four years. That same thing happened to John F. Kennedy but he got shot in his second election. So he only was president for 7 years.

How long can a man be president?

Four years in one term, Eight years if he is elected for a second term, but in the US a President can only serve two terms for a max of eight years.

How long are the president's and vice-president's terms?

The president and the vice president of the US are elected for four year terms. Elections are held every four years.