Best Answer

Congress did not want the Northwest Territory divided in to only two states because it would be hard to govern large areas. That also thought smaller states would the land would be settled evenly as well.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why did Congress not want the Northwest Territory divided into only two states?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Congress provided that the Northwest Territory could be divided into no more than how many states?


How did the northwest territory get settled?

The Congress enacted the Northwest Ordinance, structuring settlement of the Northwest Territory and creating policy for the addition of new states to the nation.

Was Illinois part of the Northwest Territory?

Illinois was a part of the Northwest Territory until 1809. It was on February 3, 1809 that it was established as the Illinois Territory by the10th United States Congress.

What laws did congress pass concerning the northwest territory?

In an effort to try and organize the Northwest territory Congress passed two laws; The Northwest Ordinance and The Land Ordinance. These two acts separated the territory into states and helped the government raise money through sale of the land.

Northwest ordiance of 1787?

It established the process for how the U.S. would expand westward.

What act states that any territory with 60000 settlers could petition congress for statehood?

The Northwest Ordinance.

What was the plan for the northwest territory in 1785?

Thomas Jefferson After the end of the American Revolution, Congress established a system for settling the new territory the United States acquired. The land involved was located west of the Appalachian Mountains and eventually became the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan and a portion of Minnesota. The Land Ordinances of 1785 and 1787 served as a framework for settling this Northwest Territory.

What year was slavery banned in the northwest territory?

In 1787, Congress banned slavery in the new northwest territory. The territory included the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan and Wisconsin. By prohibiting slavery in the territory, it made the Ohio River the boundary between slave and non-slave states.

Was Slavery prohibited north of the Ohio River?

The Ordinance for the Government of Territory of the United States Northwest of the Ohio River, passed by Congress on July 13, 1787, states "There shall be neither slavery nor involuntary servitude in said territory."

Why did congress pass the northwest ordinance of 1787?

The Northwest Ordinance established a government for the Northwest Territory, defined the process for admitting a new state to the Union, and guaranteed that newly created states would be equal to the original 13 states. to help new states join the union (gradpoint)

Was slavery banned in northwest territory?

No, slavery was not allowed in the new territory

Number of states created from the northwest territory?