Best Answer

Canada has 10 provincial capital cities, 3 territorial capitals and a National Capital.

For Newfoundland and Labrador it's St. John's, for Prince Edward Island it's Charlottetown, for Nova Scotia it's Halifax, for New Brunswick it's Fredericton, for Quebec it's Quebec City, for Ontario it's Toronto, for Manitoba it's Winnipeg, for Saskatchewan it's Regina, for Alberta it's Edmonton, for British Columbia it's Victoria, for the Yukon Territory it's Whitehorse, for Northwest Territories it's Yellowknife and for Nunavut it's Iqaluit

Ottawa is the National Capital.


If you want to go back to the pre-Confederation province of Canada, you will have to add Kingston and Montreal as places that have been the Capital of Canada.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many capital cities has Canada had and what are they?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What are the capital cities of Canada's provinces and their capital codes?

Canada has no such thing as a "capital code."

What are the largest to smallest capital cities in Canada?

# # # # # # # # # #

What are the capital cities of Canada's territories?

the ballzzz

Is Toronto the capital of Ottawa?

No, both are cities. Ottawa is the capital of Canada and Toronto is the capital of the province of Ontario.

How many capital cities does Ontario have?

Well Ontario only has one capital, Toronto. However the capital of Canada,Ottawa, is in Ontario too. So I'm not sure how you want to look at it, either there are 2 capital cities in Ontario or Ontario only has one capital city, and the countries capital in it too. Either way Ontario's capital is Toronto and Canada's capital is Ottawa, both of which are in Ontario.

What is the drug capital of Canada?

BC is the capital for provinces, and as for cities, Vancouver holds that title.

What are cities that start with T?

Tallahassee is the capital city in Florida. Toronto is the capital of the Ontario Province in Canada. Tashkent, Uzbekistan and Tehran, Iran are capital cities.

What is farther from the capital of the us the capital of Canada or the capital of Mexico and why?

The Capital of Mexico is farther from the capital of US than Canada

How many capital cities were there in mauryan empire?

There were three capital cities.

Which are some capital cities in North America that begin with the letter O?

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and Olympia, Washington are state capital cities. Ottawa is the capital city in Canada.

What is the most popular city in Canada that is not a capital city?

Cities include:VancouverCalgaryMontreal

What are Cities starting with a letter T?

Tokyo - Capital of Japan Tehran - Capital of Iran Totonto - Canada