Best Answer

the answer to how many colonies united to form Canada in 1867 is four


No, the answer is three.

Canada was the first country to be created by legislation.

Section 3 of the British North America Act (now the Constitution Act) united the Provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and the pre-Confederation Province of Canada into a new country, Canada, on July 1, 1867.

Section 6 of the Act then severed the Province of Canada into the Provinces of Ontario and Québec.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, and Quebec Joined In 1867, The other colonies Joined later.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

Only three joined in 1867, the province of Canada (became Ontario and Quebec), New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which Colonies united to form Canada in 1867?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about World History

Why did the colonies want to form canada?

They wanted to hold off the American belief in Manifest Destiny.

Why was the country Canada formed?

In the 1860s the British colonies were facing many different kinds of problems. One solution for all of these was for the colonies to come together to form one country. These are the problems that led to confederation:

When did Canada gain its total independence from Britain?

Canadian Confederation happened on July 1st, 1867, however, this was not a declaration of independence as Canada was part of the British Empire. The Statute of Westminster in 1931 set the country as an independent realm with allegiance to the Crown as the 'Dominion of Canada'. The current Head of the House of Windsor remains the monarch of Canada.

Disadvantages of Canada west joining confederation?

"Canada West" was not a political entity. It was part of the pre-Confederation Province of Canada. "Canada West" was a geographical name that was applied to the territory of the former colony of Upper Canada between February 10, 1841, and July 1, 1867, i.e., between the the Act of Union and Confederation.

What was the purpose of establishing Upper and Lower Canada?

The massive migration of Loyalists to British North America led to the creation of Upper Canada and Lower Canada in 1791. The Constitutional Act of 1791 divided the Province of Quebec into the two separate colonies. Relations between the English speakers in the west and the French speakers in the east were strained. Splitting the area into two colonies was an attempt to end the French-English conflict and retain the allegiance of the Loyalists in Quebec.The English settlements in Upper Canada would be ruled by British common law and an elected assembly while the French province of Lower Canada would retain the form of government decreed in the Québec Act (a governor and appointed Councillors).

Related questions

When did Canada form?

Canada formed on July 1, 1867.

When did the liberal party of Canada form?

July 1, 1867

How is Canada linked to the world?

Upper Canada and Lower Canada were British Colonies. They were united in 1841 as one colony called the Province of Canada. When Canada was created on July 1, 1867, the Province of Canada was divided into the provinces of Ontario and Quebec. They joined with the British colonies of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia to form Canada.

How did the British North America Act form Canada?

It came into place in 1867

What are the colonies of confederation in Canada?

In Canada, the "Confederation" refers to the entire nation, similar to the way that the "Union" refers to the entire nation in the United States. The colonies of confederation refers to the original British colonies/provinces that merged to form Canada (Upper/Lower Canada, now Quebec and Ontario), New Brunswick, Nova Scotia.

When did Nova Scotia Canada become a province?

The first Europeans to colonize the territory that is now Nova Scotia and New Brunswick were the French, starting in 1608, who called it "Acadia." The British took over the territory in 1713 and renamed it "Nova Scotia," which means "New Scotland" in Latin. New Brunswick split away from Nova Scotia and became its own colony in 1784 after an influx of Loyalist refugees from the American Revolution settled there. Nova Scotia was also one of the first provinces in Confederation, when the remaining British Colonies in North America united to become what we know know as Canada in 1867

When was the first Canadian government made?

It first started as "British North America", under the rule of Britian, it was made up of "colonies", such as British Columbia. However, on 1867, Canada East, Canada West, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick decided to join together to form the "Dominion of Canada". The best term used now is "Confederation", which means the joining of several colonies to create a single nation with a central government.

How old is New Brunswick?

The area we now call New Brunswick was originally a part of the British colony of Nova Scotia (as was Prince Edward Island). On August 16, 1784, Britain separated New Brunswick from Nova Scotia and created it as a separate colony. New Brunswick is now one of Canada's provinces, the only officially bilingual one. It was one of the colonies that united in 1867 to form Canada through what we call 'Confederation.'

When did Canada get free of England?

The form of this question is insulting to Canada. Canada was the very first nation to be created by legislation, the British North America Act, which was passed by the British Parliament during the reign of Queen Victoria. Canada began with the Confederation of the original British colonies on July 1, 1867, and grew to be the second-largest country on Earth. Canada is proud to be a member of the British Commonwealth and proud of her relationship with Great Britain.

What countries form boundaries in the US?

There are two countries that form the borders of the United States: Canada and Mexico. Canada forms the northern border of the United States and Mexico forms the Southern border of the United States.

When was the dominion of Canada form what were the first four provinces?

The Dominion of Canada was formed July 1, 1867. The first four provinces were Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick.

What two countries did Canada form from?

Canada did not form from any country. If what you mean is which two European countries created political entities which were then merged into Canada, then your answer is Great Britain (or the United Kingdom) and France. The Dominion of Canada, was created in 1867 out of the merger into one dominion of 3 British colonies: Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. Later on Prince-Edward-Island joined what is called Confederation, followed by British-Columbia. All of Which were British colonies. The rest of the territory was transfered from the British Hudson's Bay Company. This land was later divided into new provinces and territories, including the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, and the territories of Yukon, and the Northwest Territories, which was further subdivided into the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Finally, in 1949, the British colony of Newfoundland joined confederation. The Colony of Canada was a result of the Act of Union of 1841 which united the colonies of Upper and Lower Canada into one colony, called Canada. These entities are now Ontario and Québec, though the Province of Québec itself is a much older entity, the name of which goes back to the Royal Proclamation of 1863, which changed the name (and boudaries) of New France to the Province of Quebec. New France was the name of the French Colony, which is now part of Canada.