Best Answer

Quebec, Ontario, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia:)

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which provinces made up the original part of the dominion of Canada?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about World History

Why is British North America Act important in Canada?

The British North America Act or Constitution Act took three provinces and created Canada. That wasNova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Canada.

In Canada what happened in the years of 1867 through 1914?

In 1867 the British Parliament accepted the plan and passed the British North American Act. This made Canada "one Dominion under the name of Canada. A dominion is a self-governing area but still subject to Great Britain.

What was the Relationship between Canada and great Britain?

Britain and Canada are close allies. Canada and the UK share much history mainly because large parts of what is now Canada used to be part of the British Empire. Canada has been completely independent of the UK for a great deal of time. Queen Elizabeth II is currently the sovereign of both Canada and the UK (and 14 other commonwealth realms) so diplomatic ties are obviously strong. Canada and the UK were both among the original signatories of NATO.

Why did the slaves escape to Canada why didn't they go somewhere else?

slaves escaped to Canada for freedom because a law on both sides of the war was that you were aloud to retrieve your slaves but once in Canada they were protected by the canadians

When did Canada get freedom from England?

I believe it was in 1846-1865. I'm not too sure, but I'm thinking it was then. Hope it helped! Please.... only add something if you know for sure its right. but thanks anyway for the effort Actually the British Commonwealth of Nations (in 1931) gave Canada complete freedom... I studied it In the Rebellion of 1837, rebels lead By William Lyon Mackenzie fought the government in order to be treated fairly by the government. (The government only gave money to the rich and friends). They made the point clear and many rebels and solders were killed because of it. This rebellion was the last of many rebellions made from Canada. England sent Lord Durham, to go down to Canada and see how Canada (at that time called Colonies) could be improve. he suggested in his report that the colonies should unite and declare independence from Britain. At first the idea was forgotten but 128 years later the idea was brought back up in 1865. The government of England and the colonies discussed independence and 2 years later, Canada was created. Sir John. A Macdonald was assigned the first Prime Minister of Canada. _____ Canadians don't use the term "Freedom from England". We gained independence July 1, 1867. At that time Canada became the Dominion of Canada and were no longer a colony. A variety of reasons contributed to the formation of Canada - American expansionism, Fenian raids, Riel crisis. Although it took a number of events over the coming decades before Canada was seen as completely independent (see Vimy Ridge, King-Byng Crisis, Constitution Repatriation), Canada evolved from colony status to a fully independent country. Using the phrase "get freedom" implies and American style revolution, but Canada remained loyal to the Crown through out the transition.

Related questions

Why was the dominion of Canada form?

The British North America Act of 1867 made the four provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia into a Dominion under the name Canada and to this Confederation the other provinces and territories which today are part of Canada were gradually added.

Canada is made up of 10 what?

everything in canada

Who made a cartridge with a headstamp DC CO USA?

dominion cartridge company (dominion of canada) g

Why is British North America Act important in Canada?

The British North America Act or Constitution Act took three provinces and created Canada. That wasNova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Canada.

Canada is made up of three territories and-?

Canada is made up of three territories and three provinces.

What provinces are the maritime provinces?

The maritimes are a subregion of Atlantic Canada. The three maritime provinces are; New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. Atlantic Canada is made up of the three maritime provinces and Newfoundland and Labrador.

What is special about Canada's state?

Canada is not a state and does not include states- it is made up of provinces and territories.

How did geography enter into the original agreement?

Well Canada was being made into territories and provinces when Confederation was being put into place as well as after. Geography is the land so, the split provinces becoming smaller provinces has something to do with it. John.A Macdonald was the biggest key part of Confederation. He and the other key parts of Confederation decided it was right to make the provinces smaller.

What two provinces were made when settling in the west of Canada?

Three provinces, in fact, were created by the Government of Canada in the West. The Province of Manitoba was created on July 15, 1870, and the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created on September 1, 1905.

What is the oldest penny in Canada?

The first Canadian coins were made for the Province of Canada (now Ontario and Quebec) in 1858. They were produced up until Canadian Confederation. The first coins made for the Dominion of Canada were made starting in 1870.

What countries make up Canada core provinces?

Canada is a country itself made up of provinces and the provinces that make up the core provinces are Quebec and Ontario being at the center of the country and the largest of the confederation. ------------------ Neither Ontario or Quebec is the centre. Manitoba is the Centre of Canada. Ontario and Quebec have the most population and political power. When it comes to provinces paying more into Confederation, keeping it viable, they are Alberta and Ontario and sometimes BC and Newfoundland.

What are the provinces that made up Canada before 1867?

Quebec, Ontario, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia