Best Answer

Bermuda still is owned by the United Kingdom. It's the oldest and most populated remaining overseas territory that the U.K. has.

The island country also is called 'the Bermuda Islands' and 'Somers Isles.' Its former, first capital is Saint George's, and is the oldest continuously inhabited English speaking town in the Americas.

The current terminology is a British Overseas Territory. Between 1983 and 2002, the terminology was a British Dependent Territory. Between 1707 and 1983, the terminology was a British Colony, and between the official colonization in 1612 and 1707 it was an English Colony. Strictly speaking, it remains an English colony.

Nit-picking further, between 1609 and 1612, Bermuda was claimed and held by right of occupation by the Virginia Company of London as territory of the English Crown. Between 1612 and 1614, it was included officially within the territory of the English Colony of Virginia, which was administered under a Royal Charter of the English Crown by the Virginia Company, a private venture. In 1614, the Crown took over direct responsibility for the administration of Bermuda (also known as the Somers Isles). In 1615, administration was handed to a new company, the Somers Isles Company, formed by the same shareholders as the Virginia Company, which administered Bermuda under a Royal charter from the English Crown until 1684, when its charter was revoked, and the Crown again took over direct administration (Bermuda had, however, become internally self-governing in 1620, when the House of Assembly held its first session). In 1707, with the Union of England and Scotland, Bermuda became a colony of the Kingdom of Great Britain. When the settler Kingdom of Ireland joined the union in 1801, Bermuda became a colony of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. Following the formation of the Irish Free state, Bermuda became a colony of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (alternately described as the United Kingdom of Great Britain, Northern Ireland and Colonies) in 1927, remaining so defined until 1983.

The phrase "belongs to" is potentially inflammatory. The position of the British Government in regards to most (but not all) of the overseas territories is that the inhabitants of those territories have the right to self-determination, whether to remain British or to seek independence. Since the disposal of the last Imperial defense holding in 1995, HMS Malabar, within the former Royal Naval Dockyard (most of which, along with the regular army component of the Bermuda garrison, was closed or withdrawn between 1951 and 1957), the British Government has not owned any property in Bermuda. The ownership of land in Bermuda by non-Bermudians is strictly limited by the local government, and all land in Bermuda currently belongs to private individuals or organizations, businesses, or the Bermuda Government.

User Avatar

Wiki User

6y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

The country that possesses Bermuda Island is Great Britain. It is located on the North Atlantic Ocean and off the east coast of North America.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar


Lvl 1
3y ago

Bermuda is still owned by UK, also the island is called Bermuda island

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What country possesses burmuda island?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Which country possesses Easter Island?


Which country possesses Bermuda island?


What country possesses Easter Island?

Easter Island is a province and possession of Chile.

What country possesses Bermuda island?

Bermuda Island is possessed by Britain.

Which country possesses Easter Island off the coast of South America?

Easter Island is a part of Chile.

What country possesses Easter Island which is off the coast of South America?


Smallest indepent country in south America?


The island of Burmuda is a colony of what nation?

Bermuda is an oversea colony of the United Kingdom. The island of Bermuda is a colony of Great Britain.

What country possesses Easter land offthe coast of south America?

Easter Island belongs to Chine

Which country owns or possesses Easter Island?

Easter Island is a territory of Chile, located in the southeastern Pacific Ocean. Chile has sovereignty over the island and its inhabitants.

When are the Jonas?


What country in the 18th century said it is not a state that possesses and army but an army that possesses a state?