Best Answer

John Adams (1800)

John Quincy Adams (1828)

Martin Van Buren (1840)

Millard Fillmore (1856)

Grover Cleveland (1888)

Benjamin Harrison (1892)

William Howard Taft (1912)

Herbert Hoover (1932)

Gerald R. Ford (1976)

Jimmy Carter (1980)

George H. W. Bush (1992)

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

In 1800, President John Adams lost to Thomas Jefferson.

In 1828, President John Quincy Adams lost to Andrew Jackson.

In 1840, President Martin Van Buren lost to William Henry Harrison.

In 1888, President Grover Cleveland lost to Benjamin Harrison.

In 1892, President Benjamin Harrison lost to former President Grover Cleveland.

In 1912, President William Howard Taft lost to Woodrow Wilson.

In 1932, President Herbert Hoover lost to Franklin D. Roosevelt.

In 1976, President Gerald Ford lost to Jimmy Carter.

In 1980, President Jimmy Carter lost to Ronald Reagan.

In 1992, President George H. W. Bush lost to Bill Clinton.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

The presidents who were nominated by their parties or won electoral votes before they were elected were Thomas Jefferson (in 1796), Andrew Jackson (in 1824), William Henry Harrison ( in 1836) and Richard Nixon(in 1960). Future presidents who tried or were considered for the nomination but not nominated were James Buchanan (in 1844 ,1848 and 1852 ), Abraham Lincoln (in 1856), Calvin Coolidge (1920) and Ronald Reagan ( in 1968 1976).

Gerald Ford (in 1976) lost the first and only time he ran but he was already president.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Ten incumbent presidents who were defeated when they ran for a second term:

  1. John Adams (1800)
  2. John Quincy Adams (1828)
  3. Martin Van Buren (1840)
  4. Grover Cleveland (1888)
  5. Benjamin Harrison (1892)
  6. William H. Taft (1912)
  7. Herbert Hoover (1932)
  8. Gerald R. Ford (1976)
  9. Jimmy Carter (1980)
  10. George H. W. Bush (1992)

Incumbent presidents John Tyler, Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, Andrew Johnson and Chester Arthur were not nominated for a second term even though they indicated they would accept such a nomination. Incumbents Polk and Hayes said in advance that they would not accept nomination to a second term .)

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

John Adams (1800), Martin Van Buren (1840), Grover Cleveland (1888), William H. Taft (1912), Gerald Ford (1976), Jimmy Carter (1980) and George H. Bush were the incumbent Presidents who were nominated for a second term, but lost. Grover Cleveland ran again in 1892 and won. Ex-President Theodore Roosevelt ran on a third-party ticket in 1912 and finished ahead of President Taft.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

President Willy Taft and President Martin Van Buren

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Ford, Nixon plus.........

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which presidents lost the first time they ran?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When was the first time Abraham Lincoln ran for an office?

Abraham Lincoln ran for his first public office in 1832. He lost an election to the Illinois State legislature.

What 4 presidents after year 1900 did not win reelection?

Presidents who ran for reelection and lost after the year 1900 were William H. Taft (1912), Herbert Hoover (1932), Jimmy Carter (1980), and George Bush Sr. (1992). Gerald R. Ford ran and lost in 1976, but he was never technically elected in the first place.

Which presidents lost when they ran for second or third term?

Taft and van buren love,nameless 10 years old

What four presidents lost first election?

Incumbent vice-presidents who ran for President but lost:Richard Nixon - 1960Hubert H. Humphrey - 1968.Gerald Ford- 1976Al Gore - 2000Note: Former VP George H. W. Bush ran and lost in 1992.

What vice president didn't get elected for president?

Among those ex vice-presidents that ran for President, Millard Fillmore, John C. Breckenridge, Gerald Ford, Hubert Humphrey, Walter Mondale and Al Gore failed to be elected. Fillmore was a third party nominee and Breckenridge ran against three other opponents in 1860. Richard Nixon lost the first time he ran, but was elected later. Martin Van Buren, George W. Bush and Theodore Roosevelt all lost after winning their first attempt.

What percentage of US presidents had a 2nd term?

14 out 24 = 58% who were elected to a first term and tried for a second, won. 14 presidents - Washington, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Jackson, Lincoln, Grant, McKinley, Wilson, Franklin Roosevelt, Eisenhower, Nixon,Clinton, and George W. Bush won the second time they ran for president. 10 presidents- John Adams, John Q. Adams, Van Buren, Cleveland, Taft, Theodore Roosevelt, Hoover, Carter and George H. W. Bush lost the second time they ran. (Cleveland came back to win on his third try.)

What life did Abraham Lincoln have before he became president?

He lived in a log cabin and was a farm boy. He actually ran for president the first time and lost but then he ran again and won.

How many presidents ran for two terms and did not win?

John Adams, Martin Van Buren, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, and George H.W. Bush, all ran for a second term but lost the election.(so about 5 of them ran for the second term and lost)BYE and have a GREAT day:)

How is George W Bush the same as Martin Van Buren?

Both were one-term presidents who were nominated and ran for a second term, but lost.

What vice presidents ran for president and were not elected?

Incumbent Vice Presidents who lost their presidential elections were...John C. Breckinridge (1860)Richard M. Nixon (1960)Hubert H. Humphrey (1968)Al Gore (2000)(Although Nixon lost the 1960 election, he ran again and won eight years later.... His opponent was the incumbent Vice President.)

Was There A President Born In Wisconsin?

Fighting Bob La Follette ran for president and lost in 1912.

Did president Theodore Roosevelt lose the first time he ran for president?

No. The first time he ran was 1904, and he won.