Best Answer

The Middle Ages are usually regarded as having lasted from the abdication of Romulus Augustulus, Emperor of the Roman Empire of the West, in 476, which is taken as the date of the fall of the Roman Empire, until the fall of Constantinople in 1453. Sometimes a final date of 1492 is given, as this corresponds with both the fall of the Emirate of Grenada and the discovery of the New World. The usual divisions used are:

  1. Early Middle Ages, from 476 to 1000.
  2. High Middle Ages from 1000 to 1300.
  3. Late Middle Ages from 1300 to 1453 or 1492.

The Early Middle Ages began with the Age of Migrations, in which Germanic tribes entered the territory of the old West Roman Empire and set up kingdoms. After that was a time in which the Kingdoms grew, and this was the period of the Carolingian Empire and its division into the Kingdom of France and the Holy Roman Empire.

The High Middle Ages saw progress in art, architecture, commerce, government, and so on. It was a time of the crusades, and it was during this time that many town and cities grew to become important.

The Late Middle Ages was a time in which there were famines and the Black Death. But it was also a time in which the Renaissance started.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What were the different divisions of the Middle Ages?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How was life different from a town in the middle ages from life on a manor?

life was different in middle ages since it was the middles ages and in manor well, it was the manor!

How is the modern era different from the Middle Ages?

The modern era has seen more globalization than the Middle Ages.

Why is the medieval period also called the Middle Ages?

The middle ages is called the middle ages because its in the middle of two different time periods, or periods of time, in which things were a certain way for a that period of time.

Where in the Middle Ages did the invasions occur?

in different castles

What were the different classes in the middle ages or the dark ages?

Church, noble, peasant, serf.

Why are weapons today and weapons in the middle ages different?

Today's weapons are different from those of the Middle Ages for the same reason that we ride in cars instead of carts. Things change.

What group from the Middle Ages could be compared to the Romans?

None. They are two different ages and times.

During what years did the middle ages occur?

Different groups of people have different ideas about the Middle Ages. Today, probably a majority of historians have the Middle Ages lasting from the 5th century to the 15th century. Some historians call the first half of that time the Dark Ages, and have the Middle Ages lasting from the 11th century to the 15th.

What is the period in Europe between AD 500 and 1500 known as?

The period of time from 500 AD to 1500 AD is called the Middle Ages.

What did the saints do in the Middle Ages?

Many of the saints of the Middle Ages were missionaries. But saints came from all classes of life and did many very different things.

What is the painter of meddle age?

there is all different painters in the middle ages

How is today's ice-cream different to the middle ages?

they didnt have none.