Why is Tasmania called Tasmania?

Updated: 8/19/2023
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Best Answer

Tasmania has had two different names.

Tasmania's original name was Van Diemen's Land and it was named after the Governor of Batavia, Antony Van Diemen.

In the mid 1800s, it was renamed after the Dutch explorer Abel Tasman, the first European to discover and land on the island.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

On its discovery by Abel Tasman in 1642, Tasmania was named Van Diemen's Land. It was renamed Tasmania in honour of its discoverer on 26 November 1855.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

It was named so in honour of its discoverer, Abel Tasman.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why is Tasmania called Tasmania?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about World History

What is the longitude and latitude of Tasmania?

THE latitude and longitude of Tasmania is 147 E and 42 S

How wide is Tasmania?

At its widest point from east to west, Tasmania spans 315 km.

How old is Tasmania?

It depends on what you mean by "how old". Much of Tasmania is composed of dolerite which means the island began life as stewing magma agitating under the earth's crust until, some 145-199 million years ago, it spewed forth from the belly of the earth during the Jurassic period. Much later, about ten thousand years ago, Tasmania split off from the mainland of Australia, compelled by tectonic forces to begin a new life as an island. Anthropological evidence suggests man occupied Tasmania some 35,000 years ago, long before it drifted out to sea. In 1642, Abel Tasman, the European to discover the island, spotted Tasmania. British colonies occupied the island in the early 19th century.

Who founded Tasmania?

Tasmania could be said to have been founded by Lieutenant-Governor David Collins in 1804. He was directed by the British Government to establish a convict settlement on Australia's southern coast. This settlement did not succeed due to the lack of fresh water, suitable local timber and the fact that the treacherous entrance to Port Phillip Bay made the site unusable as a whaling base.Collins had heard that there was better land and timber in Van Diemen's Land, so he moved most of the settlement across Bass Strait, and established Hobart on the Derwent River early in 1804.

What are the divisions of Australia called?

Australia is divided up into six states (Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia, Tasmania - the island state), and two major interbal territories(Northern Territory and A.C.T Australian capital territory though they Australia do have smaller territories.

Related questions

Was Tasmania always called Tasmania?

it was originally called Van Diemen's Land

What is the name of the ferry that runs between Victoria and Tasmania and what Tasmanian city does it sail to?

The ferry that runs between Victoria and Tasmania is called the Spirit of Tasmania. It docks at Devonport in Tasmania.

What is the lower house of Parliament called in Tasmania?

The lower House of Parliament in Tasmania is the House of Assembly.

Tasmania is connected to the mainland by what means of transportation?

A passenger and vehicular ferry crosses from Australia's mainland to Tasmania daily. The ferry is called the Spirit of Tasmania.

What is Tasmania often called?

the 'Apple Isle

What is the lower House of Parliament called in Tasmania and South Australia?

The lower House of Parliament in both South Australia and Tasmania is called the House of Assembly.

What did Abel Tasman give to Tasmania?

His name. Tasmania was called Van Diemen's Land from 1642-1855. Name was changed to Tasmania for Abel Tasman who discovered it in 1642.

When did the first fleet stop at Tasmania?

The First Fleet did not stop in Tasmania. There was no settlement in Tasmania (then called Van Diemen's Land), and it was not the location where the new colony was to be established, so there was no reason to stop there.

What is the stretch of the water that separates Victoria and Tasmania?

The body of water between Tasmania and the Australian mainland is called Bass Strait.

Where do you catch the ferry to Tasmania from?

The ferries are called "Spirit of Tasmania" 1 and 2. They leave from Melbourne and dock in Devonport (in the north of Tasmania). The website for the ferries can be found at the related link below.

What are the houses of Parliament called in Tasmania?

The houses of Parliament in Tasmania are the Legislative Council (upper house) and House of Assembly (lower house).

What is 'Van Diemen's Land' name today?

Van Diemen's Land is now called Tasmania. It is one of the states of Australia.